Pennine League vs Lawerences
Hough End 25th March 5pm
Peters 3-10 Lawerences 1-5

The first competitive game of the season ended up in victory for the black and amber. A fine debut from new signings Niall McGill and John McGowan helped see off Lawerences. Peters started well with goals from McGill and Dessie O’Malley but Lawerences kept in touch up to half time.

Sam Waterhouse and Steve Clancy kept it tight at the back allowing the likes of Bryan O’Shea and Kevin Carney to create chances for the forward line and help the lads pick up the valuable points in style.

Team: Mark Gordan, Bryan O’Shea, John McGowan, Kevin Carney, Sam Waterhouse, Steve Clancy, Shane Gallagher, Mike Buckley, Gary Morris, Pat McMahon, Jason Hurst, Denis Glynn, Niall McGill, Dessie O’Malley.

Senior League vs Oisins
Hough End 9th April 2:30pm
Peters 2-11 Oisins 2-15

The first away match for the Chorlton boys ended in defeat to a strong Oisins team in a gritty energy sapping sunday in Didsbury.

After a slow start Peters gained a foothold in the game with Niall McGill, Shane Gallagher and Gary Morris being the standout performers.
Goals from new boy David Loftus and Brian McGinty kept the lads well in the game up to the closing stages but the 4 point margin provided too much of a gap to close.

Team: Barry McGeehan, John McGowan, Bryan O’ Shea, Pat McMahon, Brian McGinty,  Michael Hurst, James Fitzmaurice,  Gary Morris, Mike Buckley, Denis Glynn, Dave Loftus, Kevin Hogan, Niall McGill.

Senior League vs John Mitchells
Hough End 23rd April 3pm
Peters 2-5 John Mitchells  3-21

On a warm day in M21 Peters side missing some previously key players went down fighting to a very strong John Mitchells side.

The opening stages of the game where tight with the Peters midfield combo of Gary Morris and Mike Buckley working well in tandem. Mitchells who fielded a strong side gained the foothold and kept the score board ticking over.  Conor Boylan featured for the first time this season at number 5 and formed part of a strong half back line with man of the match Stephen Clancy and Mayo stalwart Shane Gallagher.

Mitchells pulled well away in the end their strength in depth told.

1.Mark Gordon 2. John McGowan 4. Kevin Carney 5. Conor Boylan 6. Stephen Clancy 7. Shane Gallagher 8. Michael Buckley 9. Gary Morris 10 Michael Hurst 11. Pat McMahon 12. Jason Hurst 13. Denis Glynn 15. Dessie O’Malley 17. Liam coyne 18. Ciaran McColgan 19. Cathal O’Hullihan 20. Fergus Quinn.


Pennie League vs Hugh O’Neills

Hough End 6th May 5pm.

Peters 2-05 Hugh O’Neills 3-07.

On a dry overcast day in M21 the visitors from Yorkshire came out on top by a margin of 5 points in Peters second outing in the competition.

Manager Enda Murphy was looking to build on a fine opening round win over Lawerences and was able to call on returning players Kevin Swift and David Loftus  to the starting line up.

The low final point score by both teams does reflect the amount of chances created.  An early point from Dessie O’Malley was quickly cancelled out by  O’Neills would looked the sharper in the first 20 mins who put over 3 of there own. O’Neills also fired home a well worked goal by number 6. Peters awoke in the final 10 mins of the first half with Niall McGill opening his account and O’Malley punched home a goal before the break to leave it 1-04 to 1-03 to the Peters men at half time.

Peters continued in the same vein in the second half, creating but missing goal chances. O’Neills took full advantage tacking over points and firing home two rapid fire fortuitous goals. Gary Morris who started at number 6 kept Peters in the game scoring a fine goal. The foul count increased accumulating in penalty to Peters which was missed. In the end the gap was too large to close but many lessons where learnt from the boys in black and amber.

Team: 1. Mark Gordan 2. John McGowan 3. Jason Hurst 4. Bryan O’Shea 5. Fergus Quinn 6. Gary Morris 7. Shane Gallagher 8. James Fitzmaurice 9. Mike Buckley 10. Denis Glynn 11. David Loftus 12. Kevin Swift 13. Niall McGill 14. Dessie O’Malley 15. TJ Brennan Replacements: 17. Ciaran McColgan 18. Niall Fitzpatrick 23. Brian McGinty.